Two ways of thinking about social media: digital tattoos and virtual shadows

Rose:

I just love the connections in this talk!

Originally posted on TED Blog:

Digital-livesAt concerts, lighters once swayed in the air during poignant moments, the audience belting out lyrics together in a moment of catharsis. Today, the group sing-alongs still happen, but the air shines with a different glow: the light of cell phones.

Last week, while seeing a favorite band, I couldn’t help but notice the sea of undulating phones around me. With my view partially obstructed by shoulders, I found my eyes constantly settling onto the glowing screen of the guy in front of me, who was recording each and every song. The screen allowed me to see clearly, and yet it seemed a strange mediation of a moment that is all about the present. Yes, by recording the full show, you get to watch it later. But what did you really experience in the first place?

[ted_talkteaser id=1730]Meanwhile, the group standing beside me at this concert had faces flushed from…

View original 1,157 more words

Leave a Reply

